Sacramento Metro Chamber Announces 2017 Annual Award Winners

By Metro Chamber|December 5, 2016|News Coverage, Press Releases|

SACRAMENTO, CA – Concluding his final term as the Mayor of Sacramento, Kevin Johnson has been named the 2017 Sacramentan of the Year by the Sacramento Metro Chamber. His tireless enthusiasm for the capital city during his eight years in office, physically memorialized with the opening of the Golden 1 Center this fall, will be honored Friday, January 27th at the Metro Chamber’s 122nd Annual Dinner & Business Awards at the Hyatt Regency Sacramento.

Hosted first in 1895, the Annual Dinner & Business Awards is the Metro Chamber’s longest running event. Since then, members and community leaders have come together annually to honor the outgoing chair of the board of directors and welcome the successor. This year, Ashil Abhat of Bank of America will conclude his service as Board Chair for 2016 and pass the gavel to Trish Rodriguez of Kaiser Permanente.

In addition to Sacramentan of the Year, Chris Granger of the Sacramento Kings and Ann Madden Rice of the UC Davis Medical Center will be recognized as the Businessman and Businesswoman of the Year.

“This year was a big year for the Sacramento region and the contributions and leadership exhibited from Mayor Johnson, Chris Granger and Ann Madden Rice directly resulted in economic development and renewed enthusiasm among the business community and significant improvements in developing healthy communities,” said Peter Tateishi, President & CEO, Metro Chamber. “These three truly embody the impact one individual can have on a community and we are proud to honor their outstanding contributions and tireless energy and passion for our region.”

Nearly a thousand members of the community are expected to attend as the Metro Chamber honors these three and the following outstanding leaders for their contributions to the region:

Centennial Business Hall of Fame:  American Red Cross Gold Country Region & Sacramento City College
Business Hall of Fame: Relles Florist & Visit Sacramento
Small Business of the Year: Fleet Feet Sacramento
Peter McCuen Award for Civic Entrepreneurs: Carol Garcia, First Community Bank
Al Geiger Memorial Award: Chet Hewitt, Sierra Health Foundation & Dennis Mangers, Retired
Volunteer of the Year: Jim Alves, SMUD & Holly Harper, Sutter Health
Young Professional of the Year: Phil Tretheway, Position Interactive
Ambassador of the Year: Karlee Cemo-McIntosh, Visit Sacramento

Tickets can be purchased online at

For registration inquiries, please contact Mindy Johnston at 916-319-4261 or

For sponsorship inquiries, please contact Talia Kaufman at 310-699-6122 or

Early-Bird (by January 6th)

For Metro Chamber Members: $195 for single ticket and $1,950 for table of 10
For Non-Members: $275 for single ticket and $2,750 for table of 10

January 7th

For Metro Chamber Members: $215 for single ticket and $2,150 for table of 10
For Non-Members: $295 for single ticket and $2,950 for table of 10

Share this Post: